Indie Fashion Week

This week has been the big fashion week in New York.  It will create great media coverage and hype for all the fashion people in the cities and of course the celebrities.  This is such a contradition for me being a designer in this rural southern town.   
Not having access (except through the media) to the big designers and boutique shops, and wanting to follow my own style has left me trying to find alternatives. I could never  force myself to spend the kind of money it would take to buy the “Label” and I really have a hard time thinking of  designer style at Walmart.  For me it has always been about personal style not just following the trends that “fashion” dictates, anyway. 
So I started designing my own clothing.  This lead to my small line of one of a kind clothing and accessories, that I have always marketed through art galleries and shows.  Now with this (internet,web, Etsy) connection, I have been able to market my own line, as well as search out other unique independent designers that seem to follow their own path of style and creativity as well.
Here are some of the designers I find uniquely intresting.
esty-wildwear.jpgWildewear, reconstructed knit wear,
fun dresses, tops.
esty-treehouse.jpgTreehouse28, wonderful garments, unusual shapes.
and use of stretch fabrics, great edging details.
esty-kjoo.jpgKjoo, beautiful, very
unique accessories, fiber yarn and mixed materials.
esty-circular.jpgCircular Accessories, popular screen printed
clothing creative bold prints.
esty-silvia.jpgSilvia66, beautiful knitted capelets,
hats, soft muted color.
esty-armstrong.jpgArmstrong Industry(my shop)
esty-moxie.jpgMoxie and Oliver, traditional
techniques in leather accessories with a contemporary twist.
esty-dan-scrap2.jpgScrap DannyMansmith, reconstructed clothing and accessories ,
love the unrefined and randomness qualities.
esty-jen.jpgJen Claire,reconstructed garments,
modern with an artistic, romantic touch.
esty-srb.jpgSRB Designs, interesting pants, jumpers,
reconstructed and tailored.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marissa
    Sep 14, 2007 @ 18:45:58

    Oops I accidentally clicked the wrong comments section..I was meaning to praise you on your choice of etsy designers.

    Reply

  2. Astrid Olafsen
    Sep 14, 2007 @ 18:52:34

    I love your choise of designers — I hope you made a Treasury including them.

    Reply

  3. Cheryl
    Sep 14, 2007 @ 18:54:22

    Great items that you showcased. Keep up the great work!!!!

    Reply

  4. Laura Bucci
    Sep 14, 2007 @ 20:33:40

    Thanks for this post. Great finds.

    Reply

  5. Christina Perdue
    Sep 14, 2007 @ 21:09:51

    Wow, what great items and shops! I especially love Silvia66’s shop.

    Reply

  6. Silvia66
    Sep 17, 2007 @ 10:28:04

    Thank you very much for select me and including me in this wonderfulgroup. I love your blog, it is very interesting.
    All my best,
    Silvia:)
    Grazie mille!

    Reply

  7. Nicole
    Sep 18, 2007 @ 03:19:15

    wow, such nice designs. 🙂 how fun.

    Reply

Leave a comment