Studio Redesign

Since moving my studio back to my home, I have not been able to really set up my space.  I am currently in an upstairs room, that has been good until now, but thngs are changing and I am going to do something that may be a little “crazy.”  I would like to offer small workshops and creative visit at my studio and the current arrangement does not allow for much more than me sewing away on my own.

We live in a colonial two-story house, very typical for this area of Virgina, small rooms, traditional styling.   Of course, I have always wanted to live in a jusge open space building.  The first floor has two smallish rooms at the front, the parlor and the dining room.  We do not really use either of these spaces.  When we do have people over we are always in the family/kitchen area.  The boys are going to help me convert the downstairs into the studio and move the tv watching/hangout room to the second floor.  So now it is on to the planning and measuring and all.   It will be interesting to see how it comes out, where is your creative space?

The studio photo below is a beautiful space, it is so well thought out for space and a variety of uses.  More here form Sara Lechner.

Leave a Reply

