Fabric Design

A lot of research has been going on but not much production, in my studio lately.  I am trying new techniques in printing, on fabric and wood and paper.  It feels like my work is being pulled in two directions.  For years I have been dyeing, and hand painting on fabric, it is time consuming and labor intense, but it is what I know.  Now I am at the point where things are taking off and I must go in a different direction if I am ever going to move this creative endeavor to the next level.  Stream lining my processes and having Z assist more in the creative process.   We are setting up the screen printing studio and I am working on new designs.  It so hard for me to move to a new area of printing, I guess change is hard-I have this perfectionist problem.  Does anyone else struggle with this type of thing?  Between process and production.

I have followed this designer for years, Kerr Grabowski.  She has a great process “Deconstructed Screen Printing” and her workshops look amazing, if she ever offers one close enough for me the participate.  Wonderful fabric surface techniques on her fabrics and garment construction.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cicada Studio
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 13:44:26

    Research is an integral part of the creative process. You’re laying the brickwork for the future! Can’t wait to see what you cook up with silk screening.

    Reply

  2. GumballGrenade
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 14:12:56

    Thanks for sharing Kerr Grabowski’s work. Your struggle will be well worth it…now I sound like a fortune cookie. lol

    Reply

  3. Design for Mankind
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 16:18:40

    Perfection? Yes! Big struggle of mine. But you look like you’re very much so on the right track— keep us posted! You’ll do great things.

    Reply

  4. naoval
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 04:05:23

    Dear,
    we are a company from Bandung – West java – Indonesia that is prossecing designs for textiles.We are looking for studio design in all the world interested to make cooperation,with our studio.We can do make designes, trace design files on CD ready to printing,and proof design.

    rgds,

    naoval

    Reply

Leave a Reply

