Texture in Clay

I am a pottery dreamer.   I love how many lovely things you can create out of such a primitive material.  I took one pottery class in college, it was not good.  It is not me, not my thing, I am a very creative person and use a variety of material but not clay.  Too messy, so many steps, big surprises when you open the kiln, I am not a potter.  But I am so drawn to it and the people who create the amazing work. Since I have been thinking about texture in my own work, the possibilities of adding texture to clay work seem endless. Still dreaming here.

These are works by a couple I met in Philadephia last year at an art show.  I hope to be showing some of their work at the Red Thread later this year. 

Ed and Kate Colman Pottery.
<

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hareanddrum
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 19:35:38

    These are so sculptural! Stunning! If you also took the photos yourself, you’re a pro in that medium, too.

    Reply

  2. suzy
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 21:33:09

    This is fabulous pottery, great colors and texture. I used to be a potter in another life and I miss it when I see something as creative as this. xo, suzy

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 23:50:37

    I love to see truly unique pottery. These are gorgeous. I am a pottery wannabe… I just never find the time to learn. Some day…

    Reply

  4. Cicada Studio
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 01:59:31

    I’m a big pottery fan and having had a class and not being very successful with the medium, I truly appreciate the talent involved in making something as wonderful as these!

    Reply

  5. HeatherFuture
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 22:47:02

    Wow, these are so completely gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. tatyana
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 03:50:41

    They’re lovely. I don’t know much about pottery but i love stuff with texture and these are great 🙂

    Reply

  7. Shinigami
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 05:08:56

    So beautiful

    Reply

  8. Genna
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 02:41:41

    Wow! these are so interesting. I love them. I’m taking my 2nd pottery class in Highschool and can appreciate the talent and vision that goes into these. Absolutely amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

