100 and a Give Away

This is my 100th  post.  It has been slow going and I have time that are just so busy that I am not able to write as much as I would like.  I do have many things to talk about just not so much time for putting them into coherent form.  I am such a visual person I feel that presenting images of my actual work (as well as many other creative people) is much more interesting than my writing, but this form makes both possible. 

I honor of this posting milestone I would like to offer some things to my readers.  I have this lovely bag-and a few surprises inside for a lucky winner. Many of my recent post have involved my never-ending studio redesign, so I would like to know some of your best organizing/storage ideas.  Please post a comment including your ideas and some way to contact you and I will draw a name on Sunday April 6 and announce it next Monday, April 7.

 purse-07008.jpg

I am also planning a major new look for the blog coming soon, it is spring cleaning time you know.  Thanks for all the interest in my blog this last year. 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suzy
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 01:40:52

    Hi Angelia, congrats on reaching 100! My how time flies. My studio would be a mess without those fabulous cubby organizer shelves from Target. I have them stacked everywhere and they are the best for organizing my gynormous collection of fabrics! xo, suzy

    Reply

  2. Kerry
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 15:35:05

    Hi angela, congrats, I am new to blogging and love thrifting, I really enjoy your blog, my idea is to get some old milk crates and pile then up in a closet one on top of the other, muti-color works best and have the open box part facing out, this can re-organize anyone’s closet and you instantly have shelving, very economical and they look great! Especially good for young childrens rooms for toys, clothes, books, etc.

    you can reach me at my email, or at my telephone # 9053551994, or my address pobox295, colborne, ontario kok1s0!

    Conrats! Kerry

    Reply

  3. Cicada Studio
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 15:46:00

    100 is a big milestone! Congrats!
    Without know what kind of space you need, I found that using the VÄTTERN/ANORDNA system at IKEA was perfect for organizing under a tabletop. They aren’t too deep, so things don’t get lost in the back, but there’s tons of organizing drawers available to hold all sort of little things, all tucked away behind doors, so you don’t have to keep it neat for appearance sake. I feel, for me, the best thing is to keep as much hidden… it helps to declutter the working space without having to be overly tidy.
    Good luck with all your new plans!

    Reply

  4. Bunny B
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 18:36:37

    Congrats on your 100th post, Angela! Woohoo! 🙂
    For organization and storage, I think having a bookcase that lines the walls are the best. Especially if they’re from ceiling to floor. Saves lots of space and looks tidy. Also, I have a storage space under my bed. Keep the room clean as well 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jen
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 01:59:44

    Wow! Congratulations on your bloggaversary (is that a word??) Way to stick with it…your blog is beautiful!!!

    Well, I’m like a total organizational nut (maybe a little OCD in that area?). I love the Container Store and Ikea for little organizing “containers.” The biggest thing that I have to corral is design magazines (at least up until I started making jewelry). I love my wood storage magazine holders from Ikea with the little “dovetail” detail along the edges…they’re inexpensive yet have a great look that makes them classic! As for my jewelry, I’m still playing around with better ways to store my supplies and would love to have a custom made set of drawers for finished pieces (kind of like the card catalog file they used to have in libraries). Or maybe I can find an old one (from an actual library) at an antique store now that they’re no longer used!

    Can’t wait to see who wins!!

    Reply

  6. Tanya
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 03:03:10

    For organization, I also recommend just browsing IKEA and looking for what strikes you. Make sure to take with you dimensions of your space and items you want to put in the containers.

    Reply

  7. jen
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 03:31:37

    congrats on maintaining such a nice blog for so long!

    Reply

  8. Patty
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 16:57:49

    Congrats on the 100! Organization – it is so over rated! I am just kidding. I have metal shelving that I have collected over the years from garage sales for my fabric, a wall hung shelving units with shallow shelves for my Sulky threads, and I have ugly wainscotting with a 3″ wood trim at the top that I hammered in nails to hang all my rulers, sissors, and any thing else that has a hanging hole. I find the key to organizing is taking the time to keep the system going. I find that I get so involved with what I am doing I don’t put things back in their assigned places and pretty soon I can’t find anything! So my best suggestion is just taking the time to put stuff back where it belongs.

    Reply

  9. Jessie
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 02:40:50

    My organization tip(s)

    I keep an excel file of all my gemstones, prices each and per strand that way I can just plug in how many of each stone and it does the totaling for me. Its a bugger to set up and takes patience if you are not excel inclined (like me)

    I keep all my stones in baggies marked with the unit cost and my wire marked with my cost per foot.
    I love little baggies for organizing. I also have a billion tiny drawers in my workshop. One half beads/gems on half findings.

    My last tip is.. during the week I let everything go to hell and I do a full clean up on the weekend so everything is back in its place for the following week.

    Jessie

    Reply

  10. Judith
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 13:09:58

    Great blog! Congratulations! 🙂 For organization, it’s best to maximaze all the space you have. I like those little woven baskets that you can also put on your bookshelves. They do great with my jewelry supplies. I also make sure all my supplies are packed in each bag with labels. It makes it easier to tag them when I’m posting finished jewelry.

    Good luck with the redesign! 🙂

    Reply

  11. cruststation
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 21:44:54

    Thanks for dropping by, and congrats on your 100th post + a beautiful blog. For me, although I like organisation (it seems it’s difficult to find the time to do it). I keep a lot of inspiration in files and boxes, have to try and get some on display i.e. an inspiration board or wire. I recommend Ikea shelves, they are great for books and magazines.

    Reply

  12. maryam in marrakesh
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 09:44:17

    I so admire your beautiful work, especially your cloth wall hangers with pockets. Maybe I can swap one with you for some Moroccan treasure?

    In terms of organization, I have two ideas I am working on. I am building, a tiny little pool changing room. On the wall I have a series of 4 black pegs on which I am hanging in a row four natural rattan totes with black jute handles. That way, people can change into their swimsuit, pop their clothes in a bag and hang it on a peg and everything stays neat and tidy and dry on the wall.

    Another thing is that I have collected a series of 10 tin oatmeal tins (my husband has oatmeal every morning). They are round, like a coffee tin in the US. Mine are bright orange with a picture of a Swedish girl on the top. For my studio space, I am using velcro tape, one glued on the bottom of the can with the joining piece attached to the shelf. The cans are then velcro’d onto the shelf. I can store bills, pictures and pens in the cans. It looks fresh and mod and all those Swedish girls will be peering up at me.

    My email is maryam@mtds.com. I am keeping my fingers and toes crossed for the drawing!

    Reply

  13. Judith
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 14:13:37

    You have a beautiful blog! The best thing for organizing my chaotic studio has been the purchase of two large (tall) bookcases. On the shelves, I have pretty baskets and discarded envelope boxes from work (free) to keep things in, all grouped nicely, so I can see everything at a glance. Now if I can just keep my husband from putting his “junk” on some of the shelves! LOL
    http://artsyclay.blogspot.com

    Reply

  14. SygnetCreations
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 21:06:50

    Congrats one the big 1-0-0!!

    Reply

  15. Theresa Meyer
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 00:07:20

    Congrats on 100. I like on. . .35 or something. My studio tip – is Like with Like. Store all my embellies together, the ribbons together, the rub-ons together, the buttons together.

    Theresa

    Reply

  16. wardfunk
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 00:29:44

    This is a darling purse! Thanks for sharing on the etsy forum 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

