Fabric Printing

I have been dyeing and hand printing fabric for a while.  Most of it is in small quantities for bags and pillow a such.  I would like to move on to screen printing larger quantities.  I have tried to find a company that will do small quantities (in the US) but that has been a challenge.  It seems to be a very popular thing right now in Australia,  (Aunty Cookie, Kirin Notebook, Kristen Doran).  Since I get so frustrated with getting things done by others, I am going to try it myself.  I have the space in the Red Thread, and I have some experience in block and stencil printing I think it will work. 
I am taking a workshop tomorrow in screen printing at the Suffolk Museum. My 17 year old son Z, is also taking it, so it will be interesting to see his work, I think Jeannine will be there also.
It has been a while since I had a whole free day to just create, and I am really looking forward to it. Have a nice weekend.
pillow-07002.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannine
    Jan 19, 2008 @ 02:28:21

    I won’t be there. I’m just not feeling up to a class, though I was looking forward to this one.

    I know you will have a wonderful time. I can’t wait to see what you make!

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Suzy
    Jan 19, 2008 @ 12:20:27

    That sounds like a great way to spend a rainy Saturday! I will have to check out the Suffolk Museum and see what they have going on over there. xo, suzy

    Reply

  3. Sloane Solanto
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 13:43:06

    I work for my families screenprinting shop. I never understood why daddy didn’t want to mess with my small projects..now I work there and know. Our business is wholesale…the process to print involves…communicating your needs to daddy and the artist…the artist had to seperate the colors and tweak it so it’ll print like you want it..a screen has to be stretched & coated..the artist prints the film, the film is burned onto the screen..which is the washed and dried and inspected for pinholes..the screen had to be lined up with the appropriate pallet. You need a screen for each color in your design…color mixed…samples printed…after items printed it all has to be broken down and cleaned with a stinky solution..dried and put away. All this going on with the mass orders…and the phone ringing off the hook with people wanting their stuff! Yikes!
    I have had a hard time getting anyone to teach me how to do all this so I could go in on my own time…so now I have my husband in there..they’ll teach him b/c he is a man..hmmm I hate that…but he’ll teach me. Sorry I got on my soap box..I hope you had fun at your class!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

