This Time of Year

                      green-sqs-and-mat-030.jpgLife and work, right now, seem like a big blur.  So many shows that need work completed, so much marketing for the shows and galleries.  The creative part always seems to get lost.  I know I have been writing about this for some time, but it never seems to change. 
I was reading another artist’s blog, Lisa Call, and she offered some great ideas and quotes about discipline.
The thoughts really hit home with me. I always seem to be living in reaction mode. Never really having the goals or big picture of what I really want out of this creative life in mind when I accept another invitation to participate in  show, or someone calls for more information about or wants to do a show in the gallery.
I feel like I tend to say yes to everything and then run around trying to fill the show, or plan another marketing package, but there is never a forward plan to the future (only the next five minute future).
There are a lot of outside influences causing a lot of waiting time, in my life as well as my community, and the country and the world ( if we can go that far). I am an optimist at heart, but with so many unknowns right now it is hard to see how things might play out. I just have to keep my best instincts in mind and keep going in a positive direction.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ravenhill
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 07:28:45

    This photo really was enticingly interesting. I would like to see more! What I do see looks quite stunning and different. I can relate to your post on many levels. It is hard to 1. determine your goals and focu and 2. stay on course. Have you seen the movie The Secret?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

