Nature the Environment

I am talking about this today in hopes it will get others talking and doing things about it.  I have always tried to live this way, and to me it is hard to believe we still have to keep trying to convince others this is the right thing to do.  Growing up poor and in a very rural part of the country, this was the way we lived all the time.  It wasn’t because someone told us or it was a popular trend(we didn’t even know what that was). Taking care of the earth should be everyones’ joy. 
We grew some of our own food, and canned it for the winter and shared what was extra, that included taking care of the land, using everything and not wasting.  We could wild food that was available, berries, mushrooms. We saved rain water, put scraps of food-that didn’t go to feed the animals-around the plants, I guess that would be composting today.  
Everything was reused, clothing was worn by several members of the family and then use for quilting or other fabric projects. Old food jars were used as drinking cups, pencil holders, water collectors, etc. These are just a few examples.
I have gotten away from this somewhat, due to our location and access to things. We are coming back to the natural way for our family to live. Our food supply is not very healthy or accessible. We will be starting to grow our own organic produce again, and preserve it. I will continue my work in textiles that includes recycling old fabric items.
I hope the time is coming for more to realize that we need to for our children and grand children.

Natural Garden Ideas
Use old coffee grounds or tea bags for mulch, it is best for acid loving plants.
Add egg shells(calicum)for tomato end rot.
Plant marigolds around vegetables to help repel some insects and small animals (they have a bitter taste).
Since it is fall here, use all those leaves in the compost, instead of the landfill.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber
    Oct 15, 2007 @ 19:58:52

    I think the way you grew up sounds awesome. It’s so funny that people are now coming back to the way things were when my mom was my age. Every time I bring something up like vegetarianism or reusable menstrual products or organic gardening, she goes, “I used to do that!” It’s funny how things go full circle.

    Reply

  2. RecycleCindy
    Oct 15, 2007 @ 23:12:00

    Wonderful post for Blog Action Day! I love organic foods and products.

    Reply

  3. GrayEyedScorpio
    Nov 18, 2007 @ 15:21:44

    I can relate to, and celebrate what you’ve written here. I too grew up poor, and, consequently, green.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

