Studio Work, Renewal?

tutorial-019.jpg

I am finally getting a little time for creating my own work.  I have been putting so much time and energy into the Red Thread and marketing and all those other things that go along with being self employed.  In the mean time I have broken up my actual studio work space since we are selling our house. Now, I am sort of bridging between two different locations and I can’t seem to find anything.  My creative side has been hiding and I am having trouble getting back to design work.  What do you do when you need to get back on track?  How do you organize your time?  For now I just want to create something to feel that excitement, just to remember why it is that we do this type of artistic work.
tutorial-018.jpgtutorial-014.jpg

tutorial-022.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannine
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 15:22:32

    When I get stuck, these are things that work for me:

    I surrender to the fact that I’m stuck and I shut the door to my work space and spend time doing other things. This takes the pressure off. Within a few days or maybe a week, the desire to create stirs and I end up back in my workspace.

    Get away – even a little day trip to somewhere not related to art. This helps me increase the radius of my perspective.

    Take a class or get together with others to play.

    Sometimes forcing yourself to sit there and play with the materials at hand (even just a pencil and a piece of paper) loosens things up.

    Not sure if this is helpful, but these are things that help me.

    Have you ever heard of The Artist’s Way books by Julia Cameron? They are also somewhat helpful navigating the intracacies of being a creative person.

    Reply

  2. alison
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 20:50:32

    Hi Angelina,

    yes I know what you mean about getting stuck into ways of marketing, sometimes I can spend too long on that and not get any work done, but yes I agree with Jeannine above and I find that going out to play helps, or going to a gallery, just going out and changing the surroundings bimbling around with my camera, this inspires me to come back and start working on something, sometimes i think it’s good to fast from the internet (that’s me personaly..lol 🙂 it sometimes stops me creating cos i’m so busy looking at the lovely things peeps make on etsy…

    Reply

  3. ivyarts
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 13:32:15

    I can relate to the interruption of selling your house. We are in the process and you can’t very well keep a creative space AND keep it in “show home” condition. I’m in a slump myself. I’ve enjoyed looking at your blog. You’ll get back into the swing soon.

    Reply

  4. Monica (Feltland)
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 18:56:23

    Hi Angelia,
    How do I organize my time ??? Since I started my Etsy shop it was really necessary a better organization of my time, the children (I’ve got 3), the house, the crafting time … if I don’t get a bit of order it’s quite impossible to make anything. So all of us have our schedule and wherever I go I take my knitting and sewing bag (while waiting for the kids at the dentist or the doctor – just craft … )

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind comment … 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

